The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.

List of Professors

Name Years at Michigansort icon Position

Edward Carroll Franklin

1878 - 1883
Professor of Surgery and Clinical Surgery
Dean of Homeopathic Medical College

Henry Lorenz Obertz

1883 - 1895
Professor of Surgery and Clinical Surgery
Chair of Surgery and Clinical Surgery

Henry Obetz

1883 - 1895
Professor of Surgery and Clinical Surgery

Oscar Le Seure

1895 - 1900
Professor of Surgery and Clinical Surgery

Perry Wessel Cornue

1900 - 1901
Professor of Surgery

Dean Tyler Smith

1900 - 1914
Professor of Surgery and Clinical Surgery

George Watson Roberts

1901 - 1905
House Physician in the Homeopathic Hospital
Non-resident Lecturer on Clinical Surgery

William Thomas Miller

1902 - 1903
Non-resident Lecturer on Surgery

Claude A. Burrett

1905 - 1914
Director of the Pathogentic and Pathological Laboratories 1905-1908
Instructor in Toxicology 1907-1908
Instructor in Diseases of the Blood and Genito-Urinary Diseases 1908-1909

Hugh McDowell Beebe

1914 - 1922
Professor of Surgery, Clinical Surgery, Orthopedics, Electro-therapeutics and Roentgenology
Director of the Homeopathic Wards, University Hospital

George Irving Naylor

1914 - 1921
Assistant Professor of Genito-Urinary Surgery

Harold Francis Closz

1919 - 1921
Instructor in Roentgenology

James Krotzer Durling

1921 - 1922
Instructor in Surgery