The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.

List of Professors

Name Years at Michigansort icon Position

Andrew W. Jennings

Professor of Music

Anthony Joseph Whitmire

1912 - 1954
Associate Professor of Violin

Hanns Pick

1927 - 1954
Professor of Violoncello

Wassily Besekirsky

1942 - 1947
Professor of Violin

Gilbert Ross

1942 - 1971
Professor of Music (Violin)
First Violinist of the University of Michigan Stanley Quartet

Oliver Albert Swith Edel

1947 - 1976
Professor of Music

Clyde H

1953 - 1968
Professor of Strings

Gustave A. Rosseels

1957 - 1979
Professor of Music

Jerome M. Jelinek

1961 - 1996
Professor of Music (Cello)

Lawrence P. Hurst

1962 - 1986
Professor of Music (Strings)

Francis D. Bundra

1965 - 1992
Professor of Music (Viola)

Angel Reyes

1965 - 1985
Professor of Music (Violin)

Jacob M. Krachmainick

1978 - 1990
Professor of Music (Violin)

Ruggiero Ricci

1982 - 1987
Professor of Music (Strings)

Lynne A. Aspnes

1985 - 2008
Professor of Music (Harp)

Hamao Fujiwara

1988 - 1992
Associate Professor of Music (Violin)

Paul M. Kantor

1988 - 2002
Professor of Music (Violin)

Erling Blondal Bengtsson

1990 - 2006
Professor of Music (Cello)

Anthony Elliott

1994 - 2019
Professor of Music (Cello)

Diana R. Gannett

2001 - 2012
Professor of Music - String Bass

Yehonatan M. Berick

2002 - 2013
Associate Professor of Violin