The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.

List of Professors

Name Years at Michigan Positionsort icon

Hugh B. Z. de Ferranti

1998 - 2002
Assistant Professor of Far Eastern Languages and Literatures
Assistant Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures
Assistant Professor of Musicology

Travis A. Jackson

1997 - 2003
Assistant Professor of Music (Music History & Musicology)

Dale E. Monson

1982 - 1991
Assistant Professor of Music (Music History & Musicology)

Thor Martin Johnson

1937 - 1946
Assistant Professor of Music Literature

Hugh Wiley Hitchcock

1950 - 1962
Assistant Professor of Music Literature

Calvin H. Elliker

1990 - 2001
Assistant Professor of Musicology

Albin J. Zak III

1997 - 2004
Associate Professor of Music (Music History/Musicology)

Glenn E. Watkins

1963 - 1997
Earl V. Moore Professor of Music (Music History/Musicology)

Judith Omans Becker

1972 - 2008
Glenn McGeoch Collegiate Professor of Music (Musicology)

Louise E. Cuyler

1929 - 1975
Professor of Music
Chair Department of Musicology

Lester P . Monts

1993 - 2019
Professor of Music

Jane F. Fulcher

2007 - 2020
Professor of Music

William P. Malm

1960 - 1994
Professor of Music (Music History/Musicology)

Theodore E. Heger

1939 - 1977
Professor of Music (Musicology)

Roland J. Wiley

1974 - 2012
Professor of Music - Musicology

William J. Weichlein

1952 - 1982
Professor of Music and Library Science
Chair Department of Music History/Musicology

Richard A. Crawford

1962 - 2004
Professor of Musicology
Hans T. David Distinguished University Professor of Musicology

Gwynn McPeek

1968 - 1981
Professor of Musicology

Gordon A. Sutherland

1953 - 1957
Professor of Musicology

Raymond William Kendall

1947 - 1949
Professor of Musicology
Curator of Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments

Steven M. Whiting

1991 - 2021
Professor of Musicology