The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.

List of Professors

Name Years at Michigansort icon Position

Douglass Houghton

1839 - 1845
Professor of Mineralogy, Geology, Chemistry & Pharmacy

Edward Henry Kraus

1904 - 1946
Professor of Crystallography and Mineralogy
Dean of Pharmacy 1920-1933
Dean of Literature, Science & the Arts

Walter F. Hunt

1906 - 1952
Professor of Petrology
Chair Department of Mineralogy

Chester Baker Slawson

1925 - 1964
Professor of Chemistry & Mineralogy

Kenneth Knight Landes

1941 - 1969
Professor of Geology & Mineralogy

Edwin Newell Goddard

1949 - 1973
Professor of Geology & Mineralogy
Chair of Department of Geology
Director of Geological Field At Camp Davis

Reynolds M. Denning

1952 - 1967
Professor of Mineralogy

John M. DeNoyer

1961 - 1968
Associate Professor of Geology & Mineralogy

Frank Harold Trevor Rhodes

1968 - 1977
Professor of Geology & Mineralogy
Dean of LSA 1971-1974
Vice-President for Academic Affairs 1974-1977