The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.

List of Professors

Name Years at Michigansort icon Position

John L Brumm

1905 - 1948
Professor of Journalism
Chair Department of Journalism

Edwin G. Burrows

1921 - 1925
Acting Assistant Professor of Journalism

Donal Hamilton Haines

1922 - 1951
Associate Professor of Journalism

Wesley H. Maurer

1924 - 1967
Professor of Journalism

Charles F. Cannell

1936 - 1984
Research Scientist of Journalism & Communications

Dean Craven Baker

1947 - 1984
Professor of of Journalism, Communications

Harvey K. Jacobson

1947 - 1984
Associate Professor of Communications, Journalism

Karl F. Zeisler

1948 - 1973
Professor of Journalism

Edmund Wooding

1949 - 1969
Professor of Journalism

John V. Field

1950 - 1982
Professor of Journalism

James C. MacDonald

1951 - 1959
Associate Professor of Journalism

Leland Stowe

1956 - 1988
Professor of Journalism

Ben L. Yablonky

1959 - 1981
Professor of Journalism

Michael Radock

1961 - 1981
Professor of Journalism
Vice-President of University Relations

William E. Porter

1962 - 1989
Professor of Communication and Journalism
Chair Department of Journalism & Communications

Paul H. Jess

1970 - 1976
Assistant Professor of Journalism

F. Gerald Kline

1970 - 1978
Associate Professor of Journalism

Peter Clarke

1972 - 1981
Professor of Communications, Journalism
Chair of Department of Communication Science, Journalism