The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.


Thomas E. Kauper
Regents' Proceedings 338

Thomas E. Kauper, J.D., Henry M. Butzel Professor of Law and professor of law, Law School, will retire from active faculty status on May 31, 2008.

Professor Kauper received his A.B. and J.D. degrees from the University of Michigan in 1957 and 1960, respectively. From 1960-62 he was law clerk to Justice Potter Stewart of the United States Supreme Court and from 1962-64 he practiced law in Chicago. He joined the University of Michigan faculty as an assistant professor in 1964 and was promoted to associate professor in 1967 and professor in 1969. He was named Henry M. Butzel Professor of Law in 1983. While in Law School, Professor Kauper served as editor-in-chief of the Law Review and was elected to the Order of the Coif. From 1969-71, Professor Kauper took a leave of absence to serve as deputy assistant attorney general in the U.S. Department of Justice Office of Legal Counsel, and from 1972-76, he served as assistant attorney general for the Antitrust Division, where he bore primary responsibility for enforcement of the nation's antitrust laws. As a Law School faculty member, Professor Kauper has been a respected and popular teacher and a leading scholar in the field of antitrust law.

The Regents now salute this distinguished faculty member for his long and dedicated service by naming Thomas E. Kauper Henry M. Butzel Professor Emeritus of Law and professor emeritus of law.