The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.


Sheldon H. Danziger
Regents' Proceedings 283

Sheldon H. Danziger, Ph.D., Henry J. Meyer Distinguished University Professor of Public Policy, professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, and research professor, Population Studies Center, Institute for Social Research, retired from active faculty status on December 31, 2014.

Professor Danziger received his B.A. degree from Columbia University in 1970 and his Ph.D. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1976. He served on the faculty of the University of Wisconsin from 1976-88. Professor Danziger joined the University of Michigan faculty as a professor in 1988. He held an additional appointment in the Institute for Social Research's Population Studies Center and was named the Henry J. Meyer Distinguished University Professor of Public Policy in 2005.

A visionary scholar, Professor Danziger explored the impact of economic conditions, policy changes, and demographic shifts on the levels and trends of poverty and income inequality in the United States. His work on government policies, including the 1996 welfare reform, has clarified our understanding of how government policies shape the economic choices of low-income adults, and the well-being of these adults and their children. Professor Danziger held several key leadership roles, including director of the National Institute of Mental Health's Research and Development Center on Poverty, Risk, and Mental Health, director of the University's National Poverty Center, and president of the Russell Sage Foundation. In recognition of his many achievements he received a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship (2008), the American Academy of Political and Social Science's John Kenneth Galbraith Public Policy Fellowship (2010), and was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2002).

The Regents now salute this distinguished teacher, scholar, and administrator by naming Sheldon H. Danziger, Henry J. Meyer Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Public Policy, professor emeritus of public policy, and research professor emeritus.