The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.


Joanne Leonard
Regents' Proceedings 311

Joanne Leonard, B.A., Diane M. Kirkpatrick and Griselda Pollock Distinguished University Professor of Art and Women's Studies, professor of art in the School of Art and Design, and professor of women's studies in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, will retire from active faculty status on May 31, 2011.

Professor Leonard received her B.A. degree from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1962. She joined the University of Michigan faculty as an assistant professor of art in 1978, and was promoted to associate professor in 1981, and professor in 1985. She was appointed professor of women's studies in 1995, and was appointed the Diane M. Kirkpatrick and Griselda Pollock Distinguished Professor of Art and Women's Studies in 2004.

Professor Leonard is a highly respected artist whose work has achieved enduring, historical significance. Her groundbreaking work in photo collage and feminist art practice has been included in major international and national exhibitions, and her writings on cultural politics, feminism, and art have been published broadly. Her photo memoir, Being In Pictures, was published by the University of Michigan Press in 2007. Professor Leonard was also a pioneer in interdisciplinary learning, diversity and multiculturalism, and the teaching of visual culture. She organized the International Interdisciplinary Conference on Disabilities in 1995 and developed and implemented the NEA-funded Photoactive Feminists: Visiting Artist Series (1998-99). A passionate advocate for the inclusion and advancement of women in the academy, Professor Leonard has served on numerous University committees and task forces. She is the recipient of the Sarah Goddard Power Award (1997), the James T. Neubacher Award (1995), and the John H. D'Arms Faculty Award for Distinguished Graduate Mentoring in the Humanities (2002).

The Regents now salute this distinguished artist and educator for her dedicated service by naming Joanne Leonard the Diane M. Kirkpatrick and Griselda Pollock Distinguished University Professor Emerita of Art and Women's Studies, professor emerita of art, and professor emerita of women's studies.